Icon

ben brady

NOT EXACTLY MAKING FUTURE MAGIC

So my friend and collaborator Jeff Goldenson saw my iPad models (there is another one now that is site model/iPad cover)  and showed me these guys in London, BERG, who did these great things with lights and the ipad.  These guys are so cool and they made a nice video about this stuff…http://berglondon.com/blog/2010/09/14/magic-ipad-light-painting/…so clean.  They animate the stills and make like animations of animations sort of…very cool.  They call it Making Future Magic.  I am not quite making anything magical, and am just completely biting it from them…i just wanted to play around and see how hard it would be to do that.

Anyways, I wanted to see if it could be a relevant way of exploring my project.   Maybe the iPad doesn’t just light up the model…maybe it can become the model.  So I created a 3d model, took 200 contours of it, animated those contours back together, played a 5 second animation on my ipad as I pulled it gradually through space, with a camera on a  5 second exposure.  It took a tripod to get it to look decent, but I am happy with it.  The animation was missing a frame or something so that error with the vertical bars kept showing up all the time…woops!

it kinda worked

still not future magic

not quite future magic

OK, so I am gonna put down the iPads for a while and try to finish my project instead…no more messing around.  Our final reviewers were listed today and they are some really great architects and I want to have a complete project, not a bunch of interactive toys!

Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Responses

  1. Rebecca says:

    You are pretty amazing!

  2. mac says:

    that second pic looks really cool

Leave a Reply

